The USA Skateboarding Olympic Team

Video courtesy of The Berrics’ Youtube Channel

On Tuesday, March 20th skateboarders, parents, and media from multiple platforms gathered at CA Training Facility in Vista, CA for the announcement of the first-ever USA national skateboarding team. With the help from Toyota and Nike, 16 skateboarders, including Nyjah Huston, Alexis Sablone, Zion Wright, Brighton Zeuner, and more join together to form the first-ever USA skateboarding national team. Both park and street events will make their Olympic debut at the 2020 Tokyo Summer Games.

The eight women and men chosen for the USA national team qualified based on their performances in international level events during the year before their selection. Skateboarders will have the opportunity to qualify for the 2020 Summer Games based on three of their best results in the 2019 qualify season (now through September 15, 2019) and six best results during the 2020 qualifying season (September 16, 2019 – May 31, 2020).

Skateboarders announced to the USA National Team include: Women’s Park Brighton Zeuner (Encinitas, CA) Bryce Wettstein (Encinitas, CA) Jordyn Barratt (Haleiwa, HI) Nicole Hause (Stillwater, MN) Men’s Park Alex Sorgente (Lake Worth, FL) Tom Schaar (Malibu, CA) Tristan Rennie (Rialto, CA) Zion Wright (Jupiter, FL) Women’s Street Alexis Sablone (Old Saybrook, CT) Jenn Soto (Jersey City, NJ) Lacey Baker (Covina, CA) Mariah Duran (Albuquerque, NM) Men’s Street Chris Joslin (Hawaiian Gardens, CA) Jagger Eaton (Mesa, AZ) Louie Lopez (Hawthorne, CA) Nyjah Huston (Laguna Beach, CA)