Asian Surfing Championships Celebrates 2016 Champions at The Lawn in Canggu


Video courtesy of Sean Gilhooley

24 December 2016 – Kuta, Bali: Although gale force onshore winds and crazy Bali holiday traffic posed threats to the 2016 Asian Surfing Championships last night, The Lawn in Canggu with its management and staff provided a very comfy and safe haven for the 100+ surfers and invited guests who make the trip and gathered together to celebrate Asia’s 2016 surfing champions at the 6th annual ASC Awards party.

Future Asian Surf champs! Photo by Joey Griffiths

Liberal libations from Nusa Cana Rum, Albens Cider, and Coca-Cola Amatil Indonesia greeted the crew as they arrived and got the party kicked into gear, then before long MC Matt George got up and announced that another epic ASC recap video by Sean Gilhooley would start things off.

The exceptionally entertaining video chronicled the exploits, wins, and fails experienced by the ASC surfers this year as they traveled Asia to stops in Indonesia (Mentawai Islands, Bali, West Sumbawa, Rote Island, and Pacitan) the Philippines, and Taiwan on the Men’s and Womens tour, and also stops on the Junior Boys and Girls tours.

Tipi Jabrik. Photo by Joey Griffiths

Of special note is that 4 of the 8 men’s events on the ASC tour this year were dual sanctioned with the World Surf League, and in his speech after the video ASC President Tipi Jabrik announced that in 2017 he and Tim Hain would be working under the new WSL Asia to develop World Qualifying Tour events in the Asian region, while the ASC would continue to support boardriders, juniors, and other specialty events in the region as its focus.

Event of the year for Mentawai Pro. Photo by Joey Griffiths

Winning Event of the Year was the Mentawai Pro presented by Rip Curl, which was held at Lance’s Right and saw 2016 ASC Champion Dede Suryana surf a perfect heat in the semifinals, nailing two 10 points waves for a perfect 20 point heat score. Australia’s Chris Zaffis was the ultimate winner, with Dede coming in a close second place. It was arguably the best WQS 1000 rated event in history, and fortunately the webcast managed to work on the last day when the waves were absolutely pumping, garning heaps of media attention. Accepting the award on behalf of the Mentawai government and Rip Curl was James Hendy and Dhanny. Many thanks to Ibu Desti and her team in the Mentawai Islands for sponsoring the event.

Photo by Joey Griffiths

This year’s champions were then called up to receive their trophies and prizes from ASC Judge Wayan “Leon” Suandhi and ASC’s Tim Hain, including custom surfboards from Channel Islands, Chilli Surfboards, and Luke Studer Surfboards, and fins from FCS and Shapers.

Dede Suryana (2016 ASC Men’s Champion) and Ketut Agus (2016 ASC Junior’s Champion) Photo by Joey Griffiths
ASC Junior’s women’s division Champion Dhea Natasya from Kuta, Bali. Photo by Joey Griffiths

Men’s Open Division Champion: Dede Suryana from Cimaja, West Java – received Rp 10 million in cash, two Luke Studer surfboards, two sets of Shapers fins, and 1 set of FSC fins

Women’s Division: Nilbie Blancada from Siargao Island, Philippines – received Rp 5 million in cash, 1 Chilli surfboards, two sets of Shapers fins, and one set of FCS fins

Junior Boys Division: Ketut Agus from Kuta, Bali – received Rp 2.5 million in cash, 1 Channel Islands surfboard, and 3 sets of FCS fins

Junior Girls Division: Dhea Natasya from Kuta, Bali – received Rp 2.5 million in cash, 1 Chilli surfboard, and 3 sets of FCS fins.

Unfortunately Nilbie Blancada from the Philippines couldn’t come and accept her trophy in person, but she did send a video thanking the ASC and telling the audience how much being the first Filipina women to win an ASC championship means to her.

2016 women’s champion Nilbie Blancada. Photo by Tim Hain

After a round of applause from the audience and numerous photos ops with the winners, the evening continued with more drinks and music until it was lights out at just after midnight.

Photo by Joey Griffiths
Photo by Joey Griffiths
Photo by Joey Griffiths

Watch the 2016 ASC Highlights by Mr. Sean Gilhooley

The ASC thanks Desti Seminora and the Government of the Mentawai Islands, the Komune Beach Club, the Government of West Sumbawa and the West Sumbawa Boardriders/Lensa Pulau Sumbawa, Quiksilver Indonesia and the Australian Consulate General, the Pacitan Government and the Pacitan Surf Club, the Government of Surigao Del Norte and the Mayor of General Luna, the Nemberala Beach Club/Boa Beach Club and Billabong, and the Taitung County Government/Peace Marketing for their making these events possible and inviting the ASC to be a part of them all.

And to our media partners, Balibelly,, The Beat,, Bali and Beyond, Now Bali, and Surftime Magazine and everyone else who supported ASC!

About the Asian Surfing Championships (ASC)

The Asian Surfing Championships was established in 2010 as the progression of the highly successful Indonesian Surfing Championships that began in Bali, Indonesia in 2004. The mission of the ASC is to develop and progress the sport of surfing in Asia by assisting in the organizing and sanctioning of professional surfing events, which will help their growing surf communities and draw more attention to their areas for the progression of surfing locally, nationally, and throughout the Asian Region.

Since 2008, the ASC/ISC has sanctioned 195 events around the Asian region for an average of 24 events per year, ranging from junior events to co-sanctioned pro events with the World Surf League in Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, the Maldives, the Philippines, India, Taiwan, and China, and the ASC event media releases and video highlights reach over 12 million viewers per year.

See more at