The 19th Annual Siargao Surfing Cup at Cloud 9 Officially Opened Today – Solid Swell on Top for the First Day


23 September 2013, Siargao Island – Philippines: The 19th Annual Siargao Surfing Cup was officially opened today with the ceremonial breaking of a surfboard by the Hon. Benito C. Bengzon Jr, the Hon. Francisco T. Matugas, the Hon. Sol. F. Matuga, and Mayor Jaime P. Rusillon after speeches, singing and dancing, and the introduction of the local and international competitors who will be surfing in the event starting Tuesday morning.

 Board Breaking-6689The ceremonial breaking of a surfboard.

With a swell forecast calling for solid 3-6 foot surf over at least the next three days, its expected that both the surfers and the spectators will be treated to some of the best tube riding in the world at the Philippines most renowned surfing destination. Recently rated in the top 10 of the world’s best surfing waves, Cloud 9 is truly a dream wave, with powerful and hollow waves formed as the deep Pacific Ocean swells impact the coral reef in front of the scenic seaside town with hits iconic walkway and wooden observation tower.


48 men from 11 different countries including the Philippines, Indonesia, Taiwan, Australia, New Zealand, Italy, Israel, Russia, France, Holland, Hawaii will be competing in the ASC 6 star rated Men’s Open Division that has a total prize purse of $10,000 USD in prize money on offer, with $5,000 going to the winner.


The Asian Surfing Championships top ranked surfers that will be competing in the event are 2012-13 Asian Surfing Champion ASC) and 2012 Indonesian Surfing Champion (ISC) Raditya Rondi from Bali, 2011 ISC Champion Marlon Gerber (Bali), 2010 ISC Open and Pro Junior Champion Putra Hermawan, as well as Garut Widiarta, Pepen Hendrik, Dede Suryana, and Mega Semadhi, as well as local previous event winners Piso Alcala, Carlito Nogalo, Dave Reardon Smith and others.

12 women from the Philippines, Japan, Indonesia, and Japan will battle it out for the $5,000 prize purse in the ASC 6 star rated Women’s Division, with $2,500 going to the winner. ASC number one ranked Rina Kitazawa from Japan, 5 time ISC Women’s Champion Yasniar “Bonne” Gea, and local favorite and last year’s Siargao Women’s Cup winner Nilbe Blancada will be a treat to watch in the pumping Cloud 9 waves.


The event will start tomorrow as the swell is predicted to be building overnight from the 3 foot present this afternoon, making for a perfect start for Round 1 of the Men’s Open Division. Contestants were told to be standing by ready to compete at 5:30 am for a 6:00 am start.

The 19th Annual Siargao Surfing Cup is sponsored by the Philippines Department of Tourism, the Province of Surigao Del Norte, the Municipality of General Luna, Cloud 9 Boardriders, Surf Angels, Reef Beach Houses, San Miguel Brewery Inc., Stoked Inc, Fluidsurf, Rip Curl, Siargao Bleu Resort, Nature Spring, Sagana Resort, The Boardwalk, Ocean 101, and DT General Merchandise, with media support by TV 5 and My Life On Board, organized by the Philippine Surfing Federation and sanctioned by the Asian Surfing Championships.

About the ASC

The Asian Surfing Championships began in 2011 with the mission of growing the sport of surfing in South East Asia from the grassroots level by assisting each country in organizing professional surfing events that will develop the skills of their surfers in healthy competition as well as to draw attention to their area for the progression of surfing locally, nationally, and throughout the SEA area.

Organized surfing competitions have historically been the best medium for the development of surfers and for the sport of surfing, where learning how to compete fairly and to being disciplined in training and competition are key skills needed not only for surfing but also for life.

The ASC works with the local, national and multinational event sponsors and organizers to maximize the results of these competitive surfing events towards accomplishing the goals of sharing the sport of surfing and bringing positive economic, social, and environmental benefits to the people in these South East Asian countries.

 See more at